Bernarda FINK | Voice

Bernarda Fink, daughter of Slovenian parents, was born in Buenos Aires and received her vocal and musical education at the Instituto Superior de Arte del Teatro Colón where she performed frequently.

Bernarda Fink is one of the most sought-after singers in concerts and recitals. She has been acclaimed for her musical versatility and invited by the leading orchestras and conductors in Europe and America. Her repertoire ranges from ancient music up to music of the 20th century. She frequently appears with such well-known orchestras as the Vienna and Berlin Philharmonic Orchestras, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Staatskapelle Berlin and Dresden, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Cleveland Orchestra, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, as well as with the best-known Baroque orchestras under such famous conductors as Daniel Barenboim, Herbert Blomstedt, Semyon Bychkov, Riccardo Chailly, Sir Colin Davis, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Valery Gergiev, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, René Jacobs, Mariss Jansons, Riccardo Muti, Sir Roger Norrington, Trevor Pinnock, Georges Prêtre, Sir Simon Rattle and Franz Welser-Möst.

Bernarda Fink has appeared to widespread critical acclaim in Argentina and at the most important opera houses in Europe. Recent highlights were the roles of Cecilio/LUCIO SILLA led by Nikolaus Harnoncourt at the Theater an der Wien, Idamante/IDOMENEO in a production of Luc Bondy and Jesus Lopez Cobos at the Teatro Real in Madrid, and Irene/THEODORA under Ivor Bolton at the Salzburg Festival. She also sang Sesto/LA CLEMENZA DI TITO and Idamante in concert versions under the baton of René Jacobs, both of which were recorded and highly praised.

Bernarda Fink regularly appears in recital at the Wiener Musikverein and Konzerthaus, Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, Berlin Philharmonie, Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels, Edinburgh Festival, Carnegie and Alice Tully Hall in New York. In the current season, she will again perform with Anthony Spiri at the piano at the Cité de la Musique and at the Wigmore Hall London, where she can also be heard with the Nash Ensemble. Furthermore Bernarda Fink will perform Dvorak and Janacek songs together with the Pavel Haas Quartett at Londons Wigmore Hall, at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, in Den Haag and in Madrid.

Highlights of the 2013/2014 season included ST. MATTHÄUS-PASSION (Nikolaus Harnoncourt at Vienna Musikverein), ST. JOHANNES-PASSION with Giovanni Antonini, Max Reger’s REQUIEM with the Vienna Philharmonic Orcheestra and Daniel Barenboim, Chaussons POEME DE L’AMOUR ET DE LA MER with Riccardo Muti, Dvořáks REQUIEM with Philippe Herreweghe, Mahler‘s III. SYMPHONY with Bernard Haitink in New York, Beethoven‘s MISSA SOLEMIS again with Bernard Haitink in Zurich. The season ended with Mahler‘s RÜCKERT-LIEDER (Lahav Shani) in Berlin and Dvorak’s BIBLICAL SONGS with Jiří Bělohlávek at the Grafenegg and Edinburgh Festival. The 2014/2015 season will bring a tour with Beethoven’s IX. SYMPHONY (Sir Simon Rattle and Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra as well as Iván Fischer and the Royal Concertgebouw Orkest and with the Gewandhaus Orchestra and Riccardo Chailly), a tour with Bach’s CHRISTMAS-ORATORIO (René Jacobs and B’Rock), Schumann’s DAS PARADIES UND DIE PERI in London and Luxemburg (Sir Simon Rattle and LSO), Bach’s B-MINOR MASS in Leipzig (Riccardo Chailly and Gewandhaus Orchestra) and Mahler’s III. SYMPHONY in Vienna and at La Scala in Milano (Mariss Jansons and Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra).

Bernarda Fink regularly holds master classes at the Wiener Meisterkurse, the austrian arts sessions in Ossiach, the Young Singers Project (YSP) in Salzburg, the Academy of the Festival in Aix-en-Provence, and the Schubert-Institut in Baden (near Vienna). She was also on the jury of the International Song Competition of London Wigmore Hall and the Bach Wettbewerb Leipzig as well as expert at the BBC Cardiff Singers of the World.

Bernarda Fink has made numerous highly acclaimed recordings. Her discography comprises more than 50 releases, ranging from Monteverdi and Rameau to Schubert and Bruckner and Schumann. Many of them have been awarded coveted prizes such as the Diapason d’Or or the Grammy. Bernarda Fink has a close collaboration with Harmonia Mundi. Recent recordings include Bach Cantatas with the Freiburger Barockorchester, and Lieder by Schumann with accompanist Anthony Spiri, Pergolesi’s STABAT MATER with the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and programs with Lieder by Slovenian as well as Argentinian composers together with her brother, the baritone Marcos Fink (Grammy nomination). In  2012, albums of Dvořák Lieder (together with Genia Kühmeier), and with Spanish Songs (de Falla, Granados, Rodrigo and others) again with Anthony Spiri at the piano, were released. Her latest album included Mahler Lieder accompanied by the Niederösterreichische Tonkünstlerorchestra and Andrés Orozco-Estrada and by the pianist Anthony Spiri.

In February 2006, Bernarda Fink was awarded the Austrian Honorary Medal for Art and Science by the Austrian Chancellor and in February 2013, together with her brother Marcos Fink, the most prestigious cultural award of Slovenia sponsored by the Prešeren-foundation for their recording Slovenija! and the related concerts.

Courses 2016

Voice master class
04. – 09.09.2016

Lessons given in

Bernarda FINK | Gesang

Als Kind slowenischer Eltern in Buenos Aires geboren, erhielt Bernarda Fink ihre Gesangs- und Musikausbildung am Instituto Superior de Arte del Teatro Colón, an dem sie auch seit dem Beginn ihrer Karriere regelmäßig auftrat.

Heute wird sie von den bedeutendsten Orchestern wie den Wiener und Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, den Staatskapellen Berlin und Dresden, dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, dem Cleveland Orchestra, dem Chicago Symphony Orchestra sowie von führenden Barockorchestern eingeladen und singt unter so namhaften Dirigenten wie Daniel Barenboim, Herbert Blomstedt, Semyon Bychkov, Riccardo Chailly, Sir Colin Davis, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Valery Gergiev, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, René Jacobs, Mariss Jansons, Riccardo Muti, Sir Roger Norrington, Trevor Pinnock, Georges Prêtre, Sir Simon Rattle, Franz Welser-Möst u.a. Mit ihrem breiten Repertoire vom Barock bis ins 20. Jahrhundert zählt sie zu den gefragtesten Konzert- und Liedsängerinnen.

Erfolge auf der Opernbühne feierte sie zuletzt als Cecilio/LUCIO SILLA unter Nikolaus Harnoncourt am Theater an der Wien, als Idamante/IDOMENEO in einer Produktion von Luc Bondy und Jesús Lopez Cobos im Teatro Real in Madrid und als Irene/THEODORA unter Ivor Bolton bei den Salzburger Festspielen. In konzertanten Aufführungen unter René Jacobs war sie als Sesto/LA CLEMENZA DI TITO und Idamante zu erleben, die daraus entstandenen CD-Aufnahmen wurden vielfach ausgezeichnet.

Als Liedsängerin ist Bernarda Fink den bedeutendsten Musikzentren bestens bekannt und darf auf Spielplänen wie des Wiener Musikvereins und Konzerthauses sowie der Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, der Berliner Philharmonie, dem Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brüssel, dem Edinburgh Festival, der New Yorker Carnegie Hall und Alice Tully Hall nicht fehlen.

Während die Konzertsaison 2013/14 mit Mahlers RÜCKERT-LIEDERN mit der Staatskapelle Berlin unter dem Dirigat von Lahav Shani und Regers REQUIEM mit den Wiener Philharmonikern unter Daniel Barenboim endete, folgten im Sommer Konzerte mit Dvořáks BIBLISCHEN LIEDERN unter Jiří Bělohlávek in Grafenegg und Edinburgh. In der Saison 2014/15 wird Bernarda Fink an der Londoner Wigmore Hall unter anderem mit ihrem Liederbegleiter Antony Spiri sowie dem Pavel Haas Quartett und dem Nash Ensemble zu hören sein. Mit Mahlers III. SYMPHONIE wird Bernarda Fink in Prag mit der Tschechischen Philharmonie unter Jiří Bělohlávek und mit den Wiener Philharmonikern unter Mariss Jansons in Wien und an der Mailänder Scala zu erleben sein. Beethovens IX. SYMPHONIE bringt sie gemeinsam mit den Berliner Philharmonikern unter Sir Simon Rattle nach Berlin, Halle Warschau, Budapest und Prag, sowie mit dem Concertgebouw Orchestra unter der Leitung von Iván Fischer nach Luxembourg und Seoul und mit dem Gewandhaus Orchester unter Riccardo Chailly nach Leipzig. Weitere Höhepunkte der Saison sind Bachs WEIHNACHTSORATORIUM unter René Jacobs, Bachs H-MOLL MESSE mit dem Gewandhausorchester und Riccardo Chailly, Schumanns DAS PARADIES UND DIE PERI in London und Luxemburg unter Sir Simon Rattle und Beethovens MISSA SOLEMNIS mit Nikolaus Harnoncourt bei der styriarte in Graz.

Dem Nachwuchs widmet sich Bernarda Fink mit Meisterkursen z.B. im Rahmen der Wiener Meisterkurse, bei der Austrian Arts Sessions in Ossiach, beim YSP in Salzburg, bei der Akademie des Festivals in Aix-en-Provence und am Schubert-Institut in Baden bei Wien. Als Jury-Mitglied war sie beim Internationalen Lied-Wettbewerb der Wigmore Hall, beim Bach Wettbewerb in Leipzig sowie beim BBC Cardiff Singers of the World aktiv.

Das umfangreiche Bühnen- und Konzertrepertoire der Künstlerin ist durch eine Diskografie dokumentiert, die bereits die 50er Marke erreicht hat und sich von Monteverdi und Rameau bis hin zu Schubert und Bruckner erstreckt. Viele ihrer Platten wurden mit namhaften Preisen wie dem Diapason d’Or oder Grammy ausgezeichnet. Bernarda Fink verbindet eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Harmonia Mundi. Die daraus jüngst hervorgegangenen Aufnahmen beinhalten u.a. Bach-Kantaten mit dem Freiburger Barockorchester, ein Solo-Album mit Liedern von Robert Schumann, Pergolesis STABAT MATER mit der Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und Einspielungen mit Liedern slowenischer bzw. argentinischer Komponisten gemeinsam mit Marcos Fink (Grammy Nominierung). Zuletzt wurden ein Dvořák Album (gemeinsam mit Genia Kühmeier) und ein Soloalbum mit spanischen Liedern mit Anthony Spiri am Klavier veröffentlicht. Ihre jüngste Neuerscheinung vom Mai 2014 ist ein Album mit Liedern von Gustav Mahler, welche gemeinsam mit Anthony Spiri am Klavier, dem Gustav-Mahler Ensemble und dem Tonkünstlerorchester Niederösterreich unter der Leitung von Andrés Orozco-Estrada aufgenommen wurde.

Im Februar 2006 wurde die Künstlerin durch den österreichischen Bundeskanzler mit dem Österreichischen Ehrenzeichen für Wissenschaft und Kunst ausgezeichnet. Im Februar 2013 erhielt Bernarda Fink zusammen mit Marcos Fink für ihre gemeinsame Aufnahme Slovenija! und die damit verbundenen Konzerte den Preis der Prešeren-Stiftung, die höchste kulturelle Auszeichnung, die Slowenien zu vergeben hat.

Kurse 2016

Meisterkurs Gesang
04. – 09.09.2016

Unterrichtssprachen