Prof. Bruno WEINMEISTER | Violoncello

(Private Music University "Konservatorium Wien", Vienna)

…born in Salzburg, he grew up in a family, where music was very important.
He received very early piano and violoncello lessons and he decided later on to become a musician, just like his 3 brothers and sisters.
He studied Violoncello with Heinrich Schiff at the Mozarteum Universita in Salzburg and then with Wolfgang Boettcher in Berlin as well as orchestra conducting with Eiji Oue at the Superior School of Music and Dramatic Art in Hannover.

During his studies in Berlin, he was offered a contract as Solo Violoncello of the Staatskapelle Dresden. He accepted and stayed to this orchestra for several years.

His career as a soloist began in 1993 as he played the concert for Violoncello by Friedrich Gulda with the NDR Symphony Orchestra at the Laeiszhalle in Hamburg with the composer as conductor in a concert acclaimed both by the public and the press.

The concertos for violoncello by Cerha, Lutoslawski, Dutilleux, Schostakowitsch, Haydn, Dvorak, Elgar, the triple concerto by Beethoven, the „Epiphanie“ by Caplet, Don Quijote by Richard Straus and the „canto di speranza“ by B.A. Zimmermann are further important works of his repertoire.

He regularly appears in all important european music metropoles, with prestigious orchestras like the German Symphony Orchestra (at the Philharmonie in Berlin), the Radio Symphony Orchestra of Vienna (at the Musikverein) and the Orchestras of Lyon, Turin, Copenhagen, Athens, Stuttgart, Basel, Bern, Glasgow… and plays under famous conductors such as Michael Gielen, Heinz Holliger, Oku Kamu, Otto Tausk, Heinrich Schiff, Julius Rudel, Leopold Hager, Theodor Guschlbauer, Hans Graf, Sebastian Weigle, Christian Zacharias, Christian Arming etc…

With Heinrich Schiff as conductor of the Radio Symphony Orchestra of Stuttgart he recorded the concerto for violoncello by Lutoslawski for the Label Arte Nova and with Musikkollegium Winterthur (and Heinrich Schiff) the double concerto by Brahms. With Christian Arming and the Philharmonie of Ostrava he recorded  the Arpeggione Sonata by Schubert (arranged by H. Klug). Several conerts were recorded or produced by the Broadcast.

He is also activ in chamber music ensembles with distinguished music partners such as Heinz Holliger, Emanuel Pahud, Renaud Capuçon, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Leif Ove Andsnes, Alexander Lonquich, Barbara Bonney, Paul Meyer, Michel Dalberto, Jörg Widmann, Benjamin Schmid, Gérard Caussé, Alexander Rabinowitsch, Stefan Vladar, Jan Gottlieb Jiracek etc…

He participated to many eminent music festivals, among others Gidon Kremer’s Festival in Lockenhaus, Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival, Rheingau Musikfestival, the Music Weeks of Berlin and Vienna, Kissinger Sommer, Schubertiade Hohenems, Brucknerfest Linz, Bel-Air Festival Chambéry etc.

Bruno Weinmeister was assistant to Claudio Abbado at the Orchestra of the Lucerne Festival and accompnied him in the same function to the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, Mozart Orchestra and Mahler Chamber Orchestra.
During the Festival in Bayreuth (2005) he was music assistant to the production of Tristan and Isolde by R. Wagner.
He conducted several orchestras such as the Orchestra of the Volksoper in Vienna (with Mozarts “magic Flute”), Basel Symphony Orchestra, Niederösterreichisches Tonkünstlerorchester, Dusseldorf Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, Polska Filharmonia Baltycka, Philharmonie Südwestfalen, Bratislava Boradcast Orchestra, Youth Orchestra of RIAS in Berlin and the Orchestra Academy in Ossiach.

Courses 2015

Violoncello master class
30.08. – 06.09.2015

Lessons given in

Prof. Bruno WEINMEISTER | Violoncello

(Konservatorium Wien Privatuniversität)

ist gebürtiger Salzburger und in einer musikbegeisterten Familie aufgewachsen. Er lernte schon früh die Instrumente Cello und Klavier und wählte später wie auch seine drei Geschwister die Musikerlaufbahn.
Er studierte Cello bei Heinrich Schiff am Mozarteum Salzburg und bei Wolfgang Boettcher in Berlin, sowie Dirigieren an der Musikhochschule Hannover bei Eiji Oue.

Noch während seiner Studienzeit an der HdK Berlin wurde ihm die Stelle eines ersten Konzertmeisters der Violoncelli bei der Staatskapelle Dresden angeboten. Er folgte der Einladung und blieb dem Orchester über mehrere Jahre verbunden.

Seine Karriere als Solist begann 1993 mit einem Debut beim NDR Sinfonie Orchester Hamburg in der Laeiszhalle Hamburg. Er spielte das Cellokonzert von Friedrich Gulda unter der Leitung des Komponisten. Die Aufführung wurde begeistert aufgenommen.

Weitere zentrale Werke seines Repertoires sind die Cellokonzerte von Cerha, Lutoslawski und Dutilleux, Schostakowitsch, Haydn, Dvorak, Elgar, sowie das Tripelkonzert von Beethoven, „Epiphanie“ von Caplet, Don Quixote von Richard Straus und „canto di speranza“ von B.A. Zimmermann.

Er spielte in vielen bedeutenden Musikzentren Europas, wie z.B. als Solist des Deutschen Sinfonie Orchesters in der Philharmonie Berlin, des Radiosymphonieorchester Wien im Wiener Musikverein, mit den Orchestern von Lyon, Turin, Kopenhagen, Athen, Stuttgart, Basel, Bern, Glasgow… Dabei konzertierte er mit den Dirigenten Michael Gielen, Heinz Holliger, Oku Kamu, Otto Tausk, Heinrich Schiff, Julius Rudel, Leopold Hager, Theodor Guschlbauer, Hans Graf, Sebastian Weigle, Christian Zacharias, Christian Arming u.v.a.

Mit dem RSO Stuttgart und Heinrich Schiff nahm er für Arte Nova das Cellokonzert von Lutoslawski auf und ebenfalls unter der Leitung von Heinrich Schiff das Doppelkonzert von Brahms mit dem Musikkollegium Winterthur. Zusammen mit Christian Arming und der Philharmonie Ostrava nahm er Schuberts Arpeggionesonate in einer Fassung von H. Klug auf. Es existieren zahlreiche Rundfunkmitschnitte und Produktionen von seinen Auftritten.

Als Kammermusikpartner spielte er mit Heinz Holliger, Emanuel Pahud, Renaud Capuçon, Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Leif Ove Andsnes, Alexander Lonquich, Barbara Bonney, Paul Meyer, Michel Dalberto, Jörg Widmann, Benjamin Schmid, Gérard Caussé, Alexander Rabinowitsch, Stefan Vladar, Jan Gottlieb Jiracek u.v.a.

Er war zu Gast beim Festival von Gidon Kremer in Lockenhaus, beim Schleswig-Holstein Musikfestival, beim Rheingau Musikfestival, bei den Berliner und Wiener Festwochen, beim Kissinger Sommer, der Schubertiade Hohenems, dem Brucknerfest Linz, dem Bel-Air Festival Chambery u.v.a.

Bruno Weinmeister war Assistent von Claudio Abbado beim Lucerne Festival Orchester und hat ihn in gleicher Funktion zu den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Orchetra Mozart und dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra begleitet.
Bei den Bayreuther Festspielen 2005 war er musikalischer Assistent für Richard Wagners Tristan und Isolde.
Er dirigierte die Zauberflöte an der Volksoper Wien, leitete u.a. das Wiener Kammerorchester, das Sinfonieorchester Basel, das Niederösterreichische Tonkünstlerorchester, die Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, das Orchestre de chambre de Lausanne, die Polska Filharmonia Baltycka, die Philharmonie Südwestfalen, das Radio Sinfonieorchester Bratislava, das RIAS Jugendorchester Berlin und die Orchester Akademie Ossiach.

Kurse 2015

Meisterkurs Violoncello
30.08. – 06.09.2015

Unterrichtssprachen